Brilliance Publishing for Libraries
Login
EMAIL
PASSWORD
Home Order Replacements Advanced Search Shopping Cart
 
Hear an excerpt from this title!

on-sale date
8/1/2017

Look For More:

Titles by this
Author

Titles by this
Narrator

Kings of Broken Things
by Theodore Wheeler    

Unabridged Compact Discs (Retail Ed.)
978-1-5366-2441-0
9 Compact Discs - 11 hours  (unabridged)
MSRP $34.99   Quantity:
Usually ships within 5 to 10 business days.
The exclusive right to sell anywhere in the world in any language

Unabridged MP3-CD (Retail Ed.)
978-1-5366-2442-7
1 MP3-CD - 11 hours  (unabridged)
MSRP $14.99   Quantity:
Usually ships within 5 to 10 business days.
The exclusive right to sell anywhere in the world in any language

Hardcover
978-1-5039-4147-2
Hardcover
MSRP $24.95   Quantity:
Usually ships within 5 to 10 business days.
The exclusive right to sell anywhere in the world in any language

Paperback
978-1-5039-4146-5
Paperback
MSRP $14.95   Quantity:
Usually ships within 5 to 10 business days.
The exclusive right to sell anywhere in the world in any language

Publication Date: 8/1/2017

FICTION:  

With characters depicted in precise detail and wide panorama—a kept-woman’s parlor, a contentious interracial baseball game on the Fourth of July, and the tragic true events of the Omaha Race Riot of 1919—Kings of Broken Things reveals the folly of human nature in an era of astonishing ambition.

During the waning days of World War I, three lost souls find themselves adrift in Omaha, Nebraska, at a time of unprecedented nationalism, xenophobia, and political corruption. Adolescent European refugee Karel Miihlstein’s life is transformed after neighborhood boys discover his prodigious natural talent for baseball. Jake Strauss, a young man with a violent past and desperate for a second chance, is drawn into a criminal underworld. Evie Chambers, a kept woman, is trying to make ends meet and looking every which way to escape her cheerless existence.

As wounded soldiers return from the front and black migrant workers move north in search of economic opportunity, the immigrant wards of Omaha become a tinderbox of racial resentment stoked by unscrupulous politicians. Punctuated by an unspeakable act of mob violence, the fates of Karel, Jake, and Evie will become inexorably entangled with the schemes of a ruthless political boss whose will to power knows no bounds.

Written in the tradition of Don DeLillo and Colum McCann, with a great debt to Ralph Ellison, Theodore Wheeler’s debut novel Kings of Broken Things is a panoramic view of a city on the brink of implosion during the course of this summer of strife.

   Adult Fiction.


home | advanced search | shopping cart | contact us | privacy notice
©2001-2015 Brilliance Publishing, Inc. All rights reserved. Brilliance® is a registered trademark of Brilliance Audio, Inc. 1-800-648-2312